Getting Rid of that crappy factory Infotainment system - Toyota C-HR Forum
 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 08:32 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Getting Rid of that crappy factory Infotainment system

After much research and debate, I decided to loose the factory infotainment system. Toyota really dropped the ball with their factory system especially in the US market. We didn't even have the option for GPS much less android auto or apple carplay.

I looked at a number of head units and were tempted by a few inexpensive units like the xtron and the joying. I even wrote Xtron and they swear they do not have a unit to fit the CHR or the Toyota 86 but I know at least one guy on this forum installed one successfully.

I finally decided on this unit by Kenwood:

DDX917WS | Multimedia and Navigation | Car Electronics | KENWOOD Australia

The unit is made for Toyota. Its 200mm wide and fits perfectly in the space. The correct harness is included. I only had to purchase an antennea adapter and a USB adapter to retain the in dash USB connection. I wanted to replace it with a dual USB port since this units has dual usb output but I couldn't find anything that fit the factory cutout.

I am OK with the backup camera in the rear view mirror so I was not concerned with mapping the reverse camera wires. Although this unit has dual camera input in addition to a dash cam interface.

The installation was pretty easy, I started by prying off the trim around the factory HU. see pic1 and pic2

Once the trim is off, there are 4 mounting bolts securing the unit. see pic 3. These are easily removed with a socket and long extension for the back ones.

The unit simply slips out and you can access all the plugs. There is plenty of room behind the head unit. see pics 4 and 5.

I also include a shot of the HU model in PIC 6

Once the factory unit was out, I put them side by side and swapped over the mounting brackets which fit perfectly on this unit.

I had to connect the p.cont wire on the new head unit to the blue wire for the antenna adapter. I grounded the park break wire so I would have full functionality of the unit at all times. Everything else was plug and play. No external steering wheel controller is required for this unit. It is all built in and works flawlessly.

Although there is no built in NAV in this unit, it has a GPS antenna to improve accuracy of your phone GPS. There was room way back in the dash behind the radio to mount the GPS antenna.

For simplicity, I ran the microphone just to the left of the screen, for UK versions it would be to the right.

I simply slid the new unit in and installed the original four mounting bolts and fired it up. I set up the steering wheel controls through the on screen setup menu and I was good to go. PIC 10

I snapped the trim back on and done! I have photos of that too but I reached the file limit for this post LOL.

I posted this because this project seems daunting but this is one of the easiest installs I have done and I am no pro. I feel that Toyota really let us down with this crappy system and I hope more of you ditch this dog for a better infotainment experience.

I scored this unit for about 650.00 us off ebay. Hopefully more manufacturers will make more compatible units for the CHR. I am glad that there are trim kits available so double din mounts will fit as well but I like the look of this one because the fit looks more factory.

Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181331.jpg
Views:	738
Size:	107.7 KB
ID:	3954   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181334.jpg
Views:	683
Size:	155.9 KB
ID:	3962   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181341_HDR.jpg
Views:	649
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	3970   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181342.jpg
Views:	630
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	3978   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181344_HDR.jpg
Views:	568
Size:	246.3 KB
ID:	3986  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181344.jpg
Views:	585
Size:	134.6 KB
ID:	3994   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181346_HDR.jpg
Views:	705
Size:	226.2 KB
ID:	4002   Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181348.jpg
Views:	623
Size:	187.6 KB
ID:	4010   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180301_145352.jpg
Views:	756
Size:	235.6 KB
ID:	4018   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180301_151035.jpg
Views:	1000
Size:	231.3 KB
ID:	4026  

Rubyredpearl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 08:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Here is what the unit looks like installed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181627_HDR.jpg
Views:	872
Size:	249.6 KB
ID:	4034  
zbyra and BillT like this.
Rubyredpearl is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Here is every that comes with the unit plus the antenna adapter and USB adapter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0301181330.jpg
Views:	478
Size:	269.9 KB
ID:	4042  
BillT likes this.
Rubyredpearl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
The unit has wireless phone mirroring which works great. It had android auto which can be a bit glitchy but works. I think I may need to use a better usb chord. When you plug the usb to your phone, Android auto launched automatically. Of course you have to install the app on your phone first.

The only draw back is that this is a region 3 DVD unit which means DVD from the US do not work. However, I did find that DVD that I burn myself do work since there is no region code in them. I personally never watch dvd in my car anyway but I know folks with kids really need this. However, I have no problem streaming content from you tube as long as data usage is not an issue.
zbyra likes this.
Rubyredpearl is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 60
Thank you for posting and great pictures. You are 100% correct about Toyota dropping the ball on US when it comes to the stock radio. This is the next thing I'm going to change in my C-HR.
Rubyredpearl likes this.
zbyra is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 12:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14
Awesome Job Rubyredpearl! I 100% agree with the HU being a big let down. I was wondering if there is a way to use the factory mic rather then the kenwood? I put a JVC HU in my wifes Highlander and was able to use the factory mic.
mersh75 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
DrZeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 170
Fantastic info Ruby! Thanx much. I'm curious about the mic issue too... Also, this unit has the capability to display GPS nav info with a add-on item?
Im a Googler, your not happy with Android auto? I've never used it but I assume you don't feel it's up to par. And your phone needs to be wired to the head unit for android auto to work?
Thanks for the post my friend!
DrZeus is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 01:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrZeus View Post
Fantastic info Ruby! Thanx much. I'm curious about the mic issue too... Also, this unit has the capability to display GPS nav info with a add-on item?
Im a Googler, your not happy with Android auto? I've never used it but I assume you don't feel it's up to par. And your phone needs to be wired to the head unit for android auto to work?
Thanks for the post my friend!
It does have Nav capability but I haven't seen a nave module for it. Couldn't figure out how to integrate the factory mic. The HU had a separate mic input. I assume the mic input may be in one of the plug ins but I don't know and the separate mic does not bother me and sounds good.

There is no wireless android auto so yes, it does have to be connected via USB to work. It works great but I have had waze freeze on mine and my wife's phone. I have a LG V20 running nougat and she has Galaxy S7 edge running lollipop.Google Maps seems to work a little better I think. I haven't used it on a long trip yet.

No problems with the wireless mirroring, Just the phone has to turn sideways to go full screen.

If you figure out the mic issue, I might consider pulling it back out and doing it. Not very difficult.

All in all, I'm very pleased with the unit.
Rubyredpearl is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mersh75 View Post
Awesome Job Rubyredpearl! I 100% agree with the HU being a big let down. I was wondering if there is a way to use the factory mic rather then the kenwood? I put a JVC HU in my wifes Highlander and was able to use the factory mic.
If you have any info on mow to use the factory mic, I would be interested.
Rubyredpearl is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-03-2018, 01:46 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14
DrZues/Rubyredpearl,


I would check with daOne on here. I think he stated that he bought the wiring diagrams for the 86 and CHR to get his backup camera on the info system instead of the mirror. He could probably tell you what the pinouts are for the mic.
Rubyredpearl and sho23 like this.
mersh75 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota C-HR Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infotainment System...??? DrZeus Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 54 08-01-2019 11:16 AM
C-HR Infotainment System Chuck Chronister Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 49 06-13-2019 06:49 AM
C-HR Infotainment System - Canada HRH Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 6 11-02-2017 07:36 PM
Infotainment system operation. berian New Member Introductions 1 03-12-2017 08:18 PM
How Toyota's 2016+ CHR Stands Out From The Crowd ToyotaCHRAdmin 2017+ Toyota C-HR News 1 12-13-2016 06:12 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome