The Prius is getting AWD. When will the C-HR? - Toyota C-HR Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 08:39 AM Thread Starter

Garage
The Prius is getting AWD. When will the C-HR?

The Prius is getting all-wheel drive. Yes, the Prius. In a Toyota USA thread on Facebook discussing this, someone asked if the C-HR was ever going to get AWD. Someone else answered simply "already planned" with no additional details. Now, I've scoured the web looking for anything official that says the C-HR (USA version) is going to get AWD anytime soon and all I find is what I consider "bogus sites" (aka "fake news" ). You know the ones. They have tons of grammatical errors and misspellings.

I apologize if I'm beating a dead horse. I'm fairly new to the party here and really want to buy a C-HR, but my commute to work is just over an hour long and is comprised mostly of very hilly, single-lane, rural roads that historically are low priority for the snowplows when my area gets hit by winter storms. My present car is front-wheel drive. I've put a set of Bridgestone Blizzaks on it in years past and it has done just "OK". Now, I'm head-over-heals in love with the C-HR, but I'd really prefer my next car to be AWD. With a set of Blizzaks, I think that would be unstoppable in the white stuff.

I've been told to also consider the other options out there - Crosstrek, HRV, and Juke/Kicks. While I think the HRV is very nice, it's just a little too plain vanilla for me. Likewise, I just can't get into the Nissans' funkiness. I do like Crosstreks with just a little more flavor than the HRV. But frankly, I've had a few Toyotas over the years and they have always treated us very well and they've been my more favorite vehicles we have owned. I'd really like to get back into the Toyota family.